Reflections on software development

Very python oriented, keeping an eye on the rest of the world though :-)

Subversion : free repository hosting and client tools

Posted by goofy4u on March 21, 2006

I recently tried out the subversion hosting offered by opensvn.csie.org.
Setup took me about 10 minutes and it works as a charm.  My only concern is about confidentiality : how can you be sure that your source code is not copied and used by the owners of the site?  My guess is you can’t and you simply need to trust the guys…  or set up your own webserver of course 🙂

For the rest I’d like to congratulate and thank the people of opensvn for their offered service which is completely free.

As a subversion client on windows  I use tortoisesvn, a shell integrated svn tool that works very well.  On linux the tkcvs tool version 8 has a lot of features and is easy to use, you can always use the command line as well :-).  A vim/gvim plugin is also available at www.vim.org

7 Responses to “Subversion : free repository hosting and client tools”

  1. cnile said

    If you are a java programmer and use Eclipse as your IDE then I can advice subclipse to you.
    That way you can use svn right from in your development workbench. Very nice and handy!

  2. witter said

    Very needed information found here, thank you for your work

  3. http://wiki.ptt.cc/-OpenSVNFAQ
    “OpenSVN is currently operated by several enthusiastic students

    at [Department of Computer Science and Information Engineering], [National Taiwan University], [Taiwan], [R.O.C]. We think providing such service is great and we will keep it running and free.”

    For your information only, I don’t think you should worry about letting the site owner user your code.

  4. For those of you who are great fans of subversion and tortoise svn, I recommend that you check http://www.cvsdude.com out. You can get a free professional remote repository, and if you’re willing to give away some gas money, just consider their professional account which is also great.

  5. freddo said

    thx for information.. helpfull thx so much

  6. April said

    Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board and I find It really useful & it helped me out much.
    I hope to give something back and help others like you helped me.

  7. Demetra said

    It is in point of fact a great and helpful piece of info.
    I am happy that you just shared this helpful information with us.

    Please keep us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a comment